Home Page

                                                                          Description of photo here

Welcome to the Official Website of The Victorian Wakeful Club.

Our Club was established in 2001 by a group of like-minded women to encourage the networking and participation of women throughout all facets of the thoroughbred industry and was so named to honour the famous race mare Wakeful.  

The Club commenced with 25 foundation members as Wakeful won 25 races during her 44 race career.  A further 19 members made up a total of 44.  In May, 2014 The Victorian Wakeful Club introduced Associate Members and as of October 2015 has 40.   The Club also decided in July 2015 to increase the number of full members, now totaling 48 bringing the total to 88 women involved in the Club.  

Wakeful was bred in Australia in 1896 (by Trenton (NZ) from Insomnia (AUS) and started 44 times for 25 wins, 12 seconds and 4 thirds with prize money totaling $42,040.  Her trainer was Hugh Munro and Jockey Frank Dunn.

Wakeful was a late starter as a racehorse, not competing until she was four but she certainly made up for lost time winning 19 weight for age races during her career.  At her third start she won the Oakleigh Plate then followed up with the Newmarket Handicap and the Doncaster before running third in the Sydney Cup, a race she later won carrying 60.5 kilograms - a weight carrying record for a mare.  Wakeful also ran second in the 1903 Melbourne Cup carrying 63.5 kilograms.

Members come from all facets of the racing industry including Breeders, Racehorse Owners and Administrators.

Current Office Bearers

President:                             Christine Downing
Vice President:                    Cheryl Carey
Secretary:                             Fay Stokes
Treasurer:                             Kate Crosby
General Committee:          Jan Embling, Briga Fliedner, Sue Rees and Sally Rich

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Sign up to receive the latest news and promotions.
Social Media
Bookmark and Share