The Victorian Wakeful Club Inc.,   Lady of Racing

The Lady of Racing Award was established in 1993 by Marie McCullough and Marcia Hill.

The aim of the Award has to recognise the achievements and contribution of women in the Thoroughbred Racing and Breeding Industry and to encourage further involvement of women in the industry.

The inaugural Lady of Racing Award was a gala black tie dinner held in the Committee Room at Moonee Valley Racing Club on the evening of May 19th 1994.

The recipient of the first Lady of Racing Award was Robin Levett.

The committee held annual Lady of Racing Awards until 1997 when Racing Victoria Limited took over the organisation of the event until 2002.  There was no Lady of Racing Award in 2003.

In 2004 members of the Victorian Wakeful Club Inc. decided that they would register the name of "The Victorian Wakeful Club Lady of Racing" and continue with this prestigious award.

The aims of the award have remained the same and there have been some excellent women recognised and honoured with the annual title "Lady of Racing".

Racing Victoria Limited continues as the Clubs major sponsor, however the Club has been most fortunate in receiving sponsorship from some of the major participants of the Racing and Breeding Industry over the last two years.

The change of timing for the Lady of Racing Award lunch from Spring to Autumn has proven to be a very successful move.


1994 - Robin Levett
1995 - Shelley Hancox
1996- Joanne Spiers
1997 - Anne Carlyon
1998 - Helen Cantwell
1999 - Emma Boling
2000- Victoria Armstrong
2001 - Kerry Gillespie
2002 - Jean Purcell
2003 - Not Awarded
2004 - Andrea Leek
2005 - Majella Ballantyne
2006 - Margaret Lucas
2007 - Wendy Kelly
2008 - Pauline Liston
2009 - Fran Houlahan
2010 - Leonie Bibby
2011 - Michelle Payne
2012 - Penny Reeve
2013 - Christie Woodard
2014 - Gaye Gauci-Marchant
2015 - Cheryl McCarthy

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Sign up to receive the latest news and promotions.
Social Media
Bookmark and Share